评审标准
提交至Bio-protocol的稿件必须符合以下评审标准:
  • 实验方案符合我们发表的目标与定位。更多详情请参阅提交流程

  • 实验方案的内容结构得当,实验程序描述清楚,包括摘要、背景、材料和试剂、仪器设备、实验步骤、数据分析、实验注释、配方、致谢、参考文献。(推荐格式参见稿件书写指南)。

  • 有证据证明所提交实验方案的有效性(例如,作者之前在学术论文中发表过实验方案的精简版)。

  • 实验方案细节详实,能够让其他研究人员有效地重复所述实验步骤。

  • 实验方案用正式的英文撰写,清晰明了。

  • 图、视频、表格、动画和其它素材符合出版级要求,与实验方案具有相关性,并通过标注方式详细说明。

  • 实验方案符合所有实验和诚信科研的相关准则[例如美国国立卫生研究院 (NIH)对其资助研究人员的要求]。

  • 作者需签署我们的发表授权协议

资源共享
我们希望作者能应要求共享其实验方案所使用的材料。相关实验材料包括菌株和分离种、载体、基因构建、种子、插枝、基因型、生态型、组织样本和其它类似材料。必要时,作者还必须向适当的公共资料库提交根据其实验方案得到的数据和资料。
对编辑决定提出申诉
作者可以对编辑决定提出申诉,申诉方式为向处理其文稿的执行编辑发送电子邮件,电子邮件的标题请注明“编辑决定申诉”。执行编辑将指导作者撰写详细的申诉信,申诉信应精确说明作者对编辑决定提出申诉的原因。正式的申诉信将由至少5名 Bio-protocol 编辑委员会成员进行讨论。我们力求在收到正式申诉信后三周内做出申诉处理决定。
更正和撤销
如果作者发现其发表的实验方案存在错误,需尽快通知处理此篇稿件的执行编辑。我们将第一时间更正错误,并在随后的期刊中发表并标明此篇实验方案为更正的文稿。重大错误会导致实验方案的撤稿。若存在不能重现的数据或过失误差,作者、经费资助方或编委可以撤销已发表的实验方案。撤稿决定会在随后的期刊中公布,并且注明被撤稿件的标题及撤稿原因。
抄袭
抄袭包括两种:a)自我抄袭,即作者在没有适当标注内容为引用前提下,重复使用其之前发表作品中的重要部分;b)复制,即在作者的文稿中出现他人已发表的文章和内容。重大抄袭将由处理稿件的指定编审人员判定,如果发现文稿违反其他作品的版权和知识产权等公认标准,稿件不会被 Bio-protocol 录用。轻微的无意抄袭事件(例如使用了自己之前论文中的“材料和方法”部分的1行或2行内容)将不视为违反抄袭道德。Bio-protocol 支持CrossCheck等举措。
伦理学
Bio-protocol 是美国出版道德委员会(COPE)的成员,完全支持他们的道德指南和行为准则,并按照他们的流程处理出版道德违规行。 同时 Bio-protocol 也遵循美国科学编辑理事会(CSE)和国际医学期刊编辑委员会(ICMJE)制定的出版道德指南。这些包括但不限于:科研受试对象的处理标准,捏造和篡改数据,著作权标准,以及盗版和抄袭。
期望作者遵从科学研究和出版的道德规范以及我们的相关指南,我们还要求作者准确的声明任何潜在的利益冲突
著作权: Bio-protocol 支持并遵守 ICMJE 关于著作权、著作权标准以及通讯作者的义务和责任的指南。
所有作者均应对提交给 Bio-protocol 稿件中所包含的内容负责。我们将与稿件的所有作者通过电子邮件联系以确保他们了解并同意提交稿件及稿件中的内容,并致谢所有的作者。
贡献度: Bio-protocol遵循ICMJE关于贡献度的指导方针。获得资助,协助写作或提供发表的数据或材料等单独一项不能作为评价贡献度的标准。
那些做出贡献但不足以有作者身份的人可以在致谢部分单独或作为一个整体列出。且在致谢中提及的人,作者应取得他们的书面许可。
提交已发表的工作:Bio-protocol 发表经同行评议论文中论证过的实验方案,方法及技术。实验结果报道性的研究论文中由于篇幅的限制很多实验方法仅仅是简略描述,同行很难重复这些实验。邀请研究论文作者书写详细完整版本并将其发表是 Bio-protocol 内容的主要来源。
Bio-protocol 要求提交的稿件与之前发布的或在出版过程中的任何阶段(例如预印本格式)中的任何其他文章没有明显的重复。如果作者使用先前出版物中的代表性结果或数据,则需要获得原出版商的许可,然后再进行适当地引用。
Bio-protocol 还要求作者在致谢和参考文献两个章节中,致谢实验方案源自的先前发表的研究工作。
动物和/或人类受试者: 涉及动物和/或人的实验研究工作应遵循最高的伦理学标准。关于动物研究,我们建议遵循 Animal Research: Reporting of In Vivo Experiments (ARRIVE) 指南。对于包括使用活体动物(例如,脊椎动物和高级无脊椎动物)的实验方案,作者必须明确指出审查该实验的伦理委员会,并确保所有实验均按照相应的指南进行。所有稿件和视频必须包括一个所示实验的伦理学声明以证明所做的实验经过作者所从属的管理机构的批准。使用人类受试者的所有实验方案也必须提及批准所述实验的特定伦理委员会。且还应获得受试者的知情同意(或详细解释未获得同意的原因)。作者还应确保他们已获得其所在机构审查委员会或其他组织监督的许可,以对人类受试者进行拍摄并保证受试者知情出版和传播的形式。

Search
Editorial Criteria
Submissions to Bio-protocol must adhere to the following editorial criteria:
  • The protocol falls within the remit of our Aims and Scope. Please refer to our Submission Procedure for further details.

  • The protocol is structured in an appropriate format that clearly describes the experimental procedure, including separate sections for the abstract, background, materials and reagents, equipment, procedure, data analysis, recipes, acknowledgements, and references (see Protocol Preparation Guidelines for our recommended format).

  • There is demonstrable evidence that the submitted protocol works (for example, the protocol was previously published in its brief version by the authors as part of a research article).

  • The protocol contains sufficient detail to enable other researchers to effectively reproduce the steps described.

  • The protocol is clearly written in formal English.

  • Figures, videos, tables, animations and other supporting media are of acceptable publication quality, relevant to the protocol, and clearly described using appropriate legends.

  • The protocol adheres to all relevant standards (e.g. NIH for NIH-funded researchers) for experimentation and research integrity.

  • The authors sign our Licence to Publish agreement.

Sharing of Resources
We expect our authors to share materials from their protocols upon request. Relevant materials include strains and isolates, vectors, gene constructs, seeds, cuttings, genotypes, ecotypes, tissue samples, and other similar materials. Authors must also submit data and materials from their protocol to appropriate public repositories wherever applicable.
Appealing an Editorial Decision
Authors can appeal an editorial decision by emailing the Executive Editor that handled their submission with "Appeal of Editorial Decision" in the subject line of the email. The Executive Editor will guide the author on how to prepare a detailed appeal letter, which should state precisely why the author is appealing a decision. At Bio-protocol, the formal appeal letter will be discussed by at least 5 members of the editorial board. We aim to make a decision within three weeks of receiving the formal appeal letter.
Corrections and Retractions
Authors are requested to notify the Executive Editor that handled their submission about any errors identified in their published protocol as soon as possible after they become aware of the error. The errors will be corrected and the protocol will be published in a later issue clearly indicating that it is a correction. A significant error can also lead to retraction of a protocol. Protocols may be retracted by authors, sponsors, or editors due to irreproducible data or gross errors. A retraction will appear in a later issue including the title of the original article with an explanation of why it was retracted.
Plagiarism
Plagiarism consists of two forms: a) self-plagiarism, in which authors resuse significant parts of their own previously published work without appropriate references; and b) copying, in which authors present someone else's published work as their own. Significant plagiarism will be determined by the Associate Editor assigned to the manuscript, and if found to violate the acceptable standard of using other pieces of work with appropriate attribution, will not be accepted for publication at Bio-protocol. Minor incidents of plagiarism without intent, for example using 1 or 2 lines from their own previous Materials and Methods section of a paper, will not be considered a violation of plagiarism ethics. Bio-protocol supports initiatives such as CrossCheck.
Ethics
At Bio-protocol, we fully support guidelines for publication ethics established by the Council of Science Editors (CSE), the International Committee of Medical Journal Editors (ICMJE) and the Committee on Publication Ethics (COPE). These include but are not limited to: standards for treatment of research subjects; falsification and fabrication of data; and piracy and plagiarism. For animal research, we recommend following the ARRIVE guidelines. All protocols that have used human and/or animal subjects must mention the specific ethics committee that approved the described experiment. Protocols including human subjects should also indicate that informed consent was obtained from all subjects. We further expect authors to meet the ICMJE criteria for authorship and to accurately report any conflicts of interest.